SBCC Closes 2018 in Style

by Admin Saturday, 24th November 2018

The 68th Annual Club Dinner began in customary fashion with the evenings compare Dr. Roddy Vann getting the proceedings underway by saying grace and remembering those no longer with us.

A superb meal was followed by the first of the evenings speeches from Club vice-captain Dom Rhodes. Dom made special thanks on behalf of the players and retold stories & highlights of the 2018 season. His excellent speech was signed off with a toast to the club and a look forward to 2019.

Next up was Chairman Bernard Stevens who welcomed the evenings guests -
John & Elaine Beckett
James & Lisa Richardson
Norman & Margaret Pearson
Scott & Becky Easton
Alec Smith

Bernard was in top form as he recognised the special people who work so hard for the Club and finished by making a presentation to the outstanding Norman Pearson who has stepped down as Secretary after an amazing 42 years. There was a thank you to Alec Smith who was inducted into the Chairman's Hall of Fame for all his years of working on the ground.

Rob Gilyeat then took centre stage to make a presentation to Norman & Margaret on behalf of the players in appreciation of their service and commitment over so many years.

Graham 'the General' Freer highlighted a successful Foss Evening League season by presenting T20 superstar Ollie Pimlott with his player of the season award.

Club captain Matty Beckett then stepped up give his thoughts on the season and announce the rest of the award winners.

A full list can be found below but highlights & outstanding performers were Ryan Gibson (Player of the Season), Ryan McKendry (Peter West 1st XI batting & bowling) and Sam Browne (4th XI batting & fielding).

The evening was drawn to a close by the one and only Dr. Vann with a superb raffle and the hundred club draw.

Thanks to Kirsty and her team for the superb food and bar service making it an evening to remember.

Club Awards 2018

Peter West Batting - R. McKendry 949 runs @ 64
Peter West Bowling - R. McKendry 31 wkt @ 18
Frank Arnott Fielding - C. Grey
Donovan Sinclair Player of the Year - R. Gibson 1169 runs @ 59 9 wkt & 9 catches
Lorenzo Ingram highest score - R. Gibson 157 V Scarborough
Brian Lara Champagne Moment - Dom Rhodes unbeaten hundred v SHB
Russ Tarr Young player - L. Easton 35 wickets & 225 runs
Wallace Pearson Club Person of the Year - Tanya Gilyeat
Norman Pearson Contribution to SBCC Award - Ian Fraser & Becky Easton

2nd team batting - S. Syed 711 @ 102
2nd team bowling - M. Fairweather 27 wkt @ 20
2nd team fielding - M. Woodliffe

3rd team batting - J. Moore 291 @ 48.5
3rd team bowling -M. Veysey 12 wkt @ 14
3rd team fielding - D. Quick

4th team batting - S. Browne 166 @ 34
4th team bowling - N. Porteus 14 wkt @ 10
4th team fielding - S. Browne